Reviews

9.6
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.7
Comfort
9.6
Property location
9.8
Facilities
9.6
Staff
9.9
Value
8.9

Reviews

    ch

    Review score

    10
    24 August 2018

    An amazing hotel with excellent service and location

    The room is a bit dark. Everything else is perfect!
    This is a truly amazing hotel! Having stayed in numerous 5 star hotels in China or around the world, this is one of the few, which really made great impression on us. The location is excellent, within the modernized old city with many good restaurants and shops nearby. What impressed us the most was the constant good service we experienced throughout our stay with very friendly staff. We had complimentary airport pick up with fresh flower, water and smiling staff. The room is very clean, the bed is comfortable. We had a room looking into the beautiful courtyard, so it is very quiet during the night. The breakfast is a set menu with either Chinese or western types of foods. It was tasty and more than plenty. It is highly recommended for visitors to Datong.
    Callum
    cn

    Review score

    10
    9 August 2018

    Worth the money

    Absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel
    Fantastically comfortable and staff who are willing to help in any way they can. The room was very clean and relaxing in the courtyard was highly enjoyable. Next time I visit Datong I will visit here
    Ming-Chun
    tw

    Review score

    10
    6 June 2018

    Wonderful experience to living in old days.

    The employee, the food, the environment
    Sabine
    de

    Review score

    9.6
    3 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Stephan
    cn

    Review score

    8.3
    3 May 2018

    Perfect accommodation for a short stay in the middle of Datong

    A cosy traditional house, beautifully renovated!
    Stephan
    cn

    Review score

    9.6
    3 May 2018

    A cosy traditional house, beautifully renovated!

    A cosy traditional house, beautifully renovated!
    Paul
    cn

    Review score

    9.6
    21 August 2017

    Beautiful hotel with quality service and food

    Quite pricey for Datong.
    A truly delightful place to stay. The architecture is old style Chinese, the facilities are modern and high quality. The staff are excellent. Good English is spoken and they are extremely helpful and friendly. A special mention to Markus and manager Tian. The food is particularly high quality. We normally eat out at local restaurants but the dinner we had there on the first night was so good that we stayed eating at the hotel. Very well located in a reconstructed part of the old town with only a 15 minute walk to the extremely impressive city walls. These city walls are beautiful for a night time walk. The hotel also arranged a driver to take us to the hanging temple and surrounding mountains. The Yungang caves are a 30 minute taxi trip away
    Sven Patuschka
    de

    Review score

    9.6
    15 June 2017
    Very nice courtyard...very nice rooms...delicious breakfast & dinner...wonderful hosts!
    Rebecca
    de

    Review score

    10
    31 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    CHRISTOPHE
    fr

    Review score

    10
    2 November 2016
    I highly recommend this hotel. We spent a great time within our room and common living room so well decorated. Lovely place in the middle of Datong. People of the hotel are very attentive to your needs and the food is so good.
    us

    Review score

    10
    23 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Henrik
    cn

    Review score

    10
    17 May 2018

    Excellent, will do this again!

    You cannot park directly at the hotel because the hotel is located in a walking area. Nevertheless parking is organized well. 150m walking from an underground parking is good organized.
    Staff is extraordinary helpful and friendly. The Hotel is welk maintained and offers many detailes such as a tobacco room, a perfect breakfast and a very stylish and tasty Dinner. I have experienced several hotels already, this was the most special one.
    Gokhan
    us

    Review score

    10
    2 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    cn

    Review score

    10
    27 November 2017

    excellent location, Yuahan temple just next door , with good eating spots. Hotel and staff top

    all was excellent
    very thoughtful staff, brought us a map of the area, delivered fruit to our room. Also gave us the good places to eat.
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    25 October 2017

    Excellent but a bad sewer smell was a problem

    There was a bad smell coming from the toilet or nearby sewer. It was too late to ask for a change in the room so I ended up taking eucalyptus lozenges and leaving the door a little open for the cold air to ventilate. This helped a little.
    Exquisite property in the historic downtown. Beautifully decorated in the traditional Chinese style. Wonderful staff!
    Arnaud
    fr

    Review score

    10
    25 July 2017

    A peaceful and nicely decorated boutique hotel in the heart of Datong

    It has nothing to do with the hotel, but some of the other guests were quite loud and nosy; I guess the boutique hotel culture is very new in China and the clientele will have to get educated to this kind of places
    The closest I have come to a Japanese-style ryokan in China. The interior decoration is very nice with a neat and peaceful courtyard. A great place to rest after the sometimes exhausting visit at the nearby sites. The staff is very courteous and one of them speak fluent English. A wonderful place to stay in Datong, very conveniently located at the center of the historic district.
    Ed
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    22 October 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.